Hemp a Gluten-Free Option

gluten freeCeliac disease, which is on a significant rise in the United States, forces many people to turn to a gluten-free diet. Celiac disease is when the presence of gluten, consumed from foods, attacks the small intestine. Even people without the disease have found that they’re sensitive to gluten or are allergic to wheat. When they have any foods with gluten, they suffer from intestine pain, constipation and diarrhea, fatigue, headaches and bone pain.

Following a gluten-free diet can be challenging and frustrating. Once you’ve decided to make the switch, it’s likely that you’ll feel like there’s nothing out there that you can eat. You’ll find gluten in breads, cereals, pastas, tortillas, cookies, cakes, muffins, crackers, croutons, chips, sauces and many other foods. Trying to put together a snack or meal without any gluten can be daunting.

Those who follow a gluten-free diet, although they must to remain healthy, are at risk of being deficient of a number of nutrients, including zinc, magnesium, vitamin D, iron and fiber. Plus, cholesterol levels have a tendency to be higher in those who don’t eat gluten. A lack of fiber from not eaten breads and pastas can cause constipation.

Hemp seeds and oil can take out the worry of suffering from these deficiencies and are completely gluten-free. Hemp is a great source of a number of vitamins and minerals, including zinc, magnesium, vitamin D, vitamin E and iron. It’s also high in fiber, which will help support your digestive system and prevent constipation. Plus, hemp contains a high amount of protein, including all of the essential amino acids, is a great source of the essential fatty acids omega-3 and omega-6. 

Hemp seeds can be mixed into smoothies, served with milk or sprinkled onto salads and yogurt. Hemp oil can be used to make your own gluten-free sauces and dressings. Flour made from hemp, which can serve as an alternative for grain-flour, is available for purchase at health and grocery stores. The flour, like the seeds, features a nuttier flavor that can serve as a tasty addition to your breads, muffins and cookies.

While most nuts and seeds are totally gluten-free, they still cannot be eaten by those who suffer from nut allergies. Hemp seeds, however, are considered hypoallergenic, so those who are allergic to nuts and seeds should be able to consume hemp seeds without any problems.

Recommended Posts

Does Hemp Seed Oil Contain CBD? Made by cold pressing the small brown seeds of the hemp plant, hemp seed oil offers incredible nutritional content but is an inadequate source of CBD....
CBD Benefits Cannabidiol is a natural compound found in cannabis. Also known as CBD, cannabidiol is a breakthrough nutritional supplement and has become quite popu...
Is CBD Oil Addictive? Are you worried that you may become addicted to CBD oil? You needn’t be! Is CBD oil addictive? It’s a common question we at HempMeds® get asked by ...
How to Use CBD Isolate as Part of Your Daily Routi... Versatile CBD Isolate can be consumed in a variety of forms, making it easy to get your daily CBD. This complete guide to using CBD isolate will giv...


Add CBD Products to your cart to checkout